Resquiat in pace…

PaddyOn Saturday evening, close to midnight, I discovered my oldest roommate had died.  Paddy the guinea pig was almost 4 years old, and so was well into middle age, but it was still a jolt for us.

I had been given the pick of the litter when my little sisters’ guinea pig gave birth.  At the time, I was moving out of my parents and into a my own place, and wanted to be able to bring a little bit of love with me.  I chose the piglet with the funny nose, and I named him Padraig.

Paddy lived with me at a succession of hovels and stopovers, and at one point even shared a house with another dog and cat.  He was very affectionate for a guinea pig, and definitely had a distinct personality.  While I wish he could continue on with us for years to come, he was starting to experience some add brain issues, and I’m glad he didn’t suffer for long.

I’m truly saddened by this, as he has been a constant companion to me for the last few seasons of my life.  Even if he was nothing more than an overgrown hamster, he was still my buddy.

This last Wednesday I attended the funeral for the father of my boss, so I am well aware that the level of loss we experienced was negligible when measured against other’s grief.  I’m not trying to equate the death of a pet with the death of a” person.”  But because this little guy had a personality, had a voice, and even had favorite foods, there is a hole in our lives that will take some time to fill.  And when I look at the spot in the living room where is cage sits, and realize that he won’t come speeding out of his little house when I crinkle a bag or crunch on a carrot, I’ll realize how such a little guy can leave a big impression.

~ by thecox on January 21, 2008.

3 Responses to “Resquiat in pace…”

  1. Godspeed Paddy. I’ll never forget your constant chirping whenever I’d open a bag of chips.

  2. […] What’s the deal with Te Hooligan? ← Resquiat in pace… […]

  3. One of the things that I’ve learned is that there’s no way to measure grief or to rank it. Pets play such a unique role n our lives, are such a part of our everyday routine and give so much to us that it’s only natural that their death leaves a big hole in our lives.

    I’m glad you had such a great companion and buddy.

Leave a Reply

 
