I don’t want it that way…

one of these thing is not like the other…

As most of  you know, I’ve been pissing and moaning about my job for 31 of the last 37 months that I’ve been employed there.  I’ve stated numerous times that I’m looking for a new job, and have been very close to finding one, but I’m still here.  All that has now changed.  This Monday, my boss and I discussed the issue, and based on the financial numbers, there is no way my current job would be able to start paying me what I need to make any time soon.

In a move that I didn’t predict, he even took most of the blame for this fact.  So as of November 30th, I will not be working at my job.  I’ll start

looking for a new one next week, and my workload will change so that the other  sales guy can start taking my load.  I’ll still be here for the next month, but I’ll move into a telemarketing position that actually pays $2.25/hr more than I was making before(commissions included).
I wasn’t expecting to have the situation play out this way, and honestly had a much more dramatic and climactic resolution in my daydreams.  But this is good for a few reasons:

  1. This forces me off my butt and back into full-time job-finding mode.  I can’t wait around for the “perfect job” to fall in my lap anymore.
  2. This will cause the least amount of drama at my job, which is good for Ben, as I got him the job in the first place.
  3. I don’t have to try and hide my impending exit, and can leave without burning any bridges.

So if anybody knows of any good job positions to apply for, let me know.

Unless it’s working for an offshore company making large check deposits into my personal account.  You know who you are.

~ by thecox on October 30, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
