JB…

In addition to all the mechanical malarkey we’ve been experiencing at the Casa del Cox, I noticed last week that my radiator has a nice little crack in it.  This is an important thing to keep an eye on, as it can lead to picturesque little green fountain of coolant if my engine gets too hot.  The mixed blessing of cold, blustery and rainy weather meant that my radiator was able to maintain a healthy temperature without putting any stress on the crack, but also meant that it would kinda suck to do any work on the car this weekend.Jake Bird Weld

On Friday, I picked up some JB Weld.  This product was named after Jake Bird(or JB, as he’s is also known) because of it’s overall usefulness and  multiple applications around the house.  Actually, I don’t know what the name means, but maybe Jake was named after it?  Either way, JB Weld is liquid steel that you mix with a hardener, and then put anywhere.  Literally anywhere, because once it hardens up it’s like you dripped metal onto something and it won’t come out.  It’s awesome.

I cleaned off my radiator, drove the car into the garage space, and mixed up my JB Weld.  I applied a medium size glob all around and over the area of the crack, and let it sit for 15 hrs.  The next night Lexi and I drove to Apple Valley, and the Weld held.  Awesome stuff, very nice to have.

I still have 3/4 of the stuff left, so if anyone needs to add some steel to anything, let me know…

~ by thecox on October 16, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
