A truly pivotal Trivial Pursuit…

Pie!Saturday afternoon I was sitting at Denny’s after work, wondering what to do with myself. My wife was on her way to the State Fair with a friend, so I was on my own for entertainment(note: many humorous and incriminating stories share this beginning, as you will notice on this blog).

As I sat smoking and reviewing my options, I received a text from Sparks, throwing down the Trivial Pursuit gauntlet. This has become a familiar theme for us, and the last six months have included many conversations similar to this:
“Dude, when are we gonna play Trivial Pursuit so I can kick your butt?” “I’m pretty busy, but setup a time and place and I’ll whup you” etc, etc.

With nothing else to fall back on, I realized it was time to pay the piper, and proposed that evening to join the field of battle. I called up Jake and Zach, an old friend from High School I had recently got back in touch with, and scheduled a tournament for that evening at 6pm.

5:47pm, halfway to Jake’s house, and I came to a startling realization: I did not own T.V., nor did I confirm that anyone else coming to the tourney owned it either. A phone call confirmed that none of us had it, and as I met up with Jake and Sparks, we decided to go purchase the game at a local retailer. Zach was on his way back from Canterbury, and was going to meet up with us after we got the game.

Proceeding is a timeline for the trivial pursuit:
Stop 1: Wal-Mart
Games they sold:

  • Hannah Montana Monopoly
  • Trivial Pursuit 80’s edition
  • Trivial Pursuit Pop Culture
  • Hero Quest: Crossbows and Catapults

Games they did not sell:

  • Trivial Pursuit(plain old nerdy version)

Stop 2: Target
(caveat: we didn’t actually stop there, as were somewhat demoralized at this point. Zach had also made it to Jakes, and was waiting on us, so we called ahead)

Games they didn’t sell:

  • Trivial Pursuit

Stop 3: Barnes & Noble
Our reasoning was that if the common intelligence factor of America’s consumers was so low as to rule out sales of Trivial Pursuit, at least a book store that sells games should have it. books= smart people= trivial pursuit target audience, right?

Games they sold:

  • Mancala(regular, travel, and pocket)
  • NFL Trivia Game
  • Mad Gab
  • Pirates of the Caribbean Monopoly
  • Simpson version of Life

Games they did not sell:

  • Trivial friggin Pursuit

We decided to give up, after calling all of our parents to see if they had it, which of course they didn’t. After regrouping at Jakes, we walked over to Ben‘s house, and ended up playing hearts. We had some nice 10-yr single malt Scotch, 7-yr Martinique Rum, and moonshine. What’s the moral of the story? Don’t let your wife go to the Fair.

~ by thecox on September 4, 2007.

2 Responses to “A truly pivotal Trivial Pursuit…”

  1. I have Trivial Pursuit.

  2. I have Trivial Pursuit too.

    On a related note, I highly recommend the 80’s version (available at Wal-Mart apparently.)

Leave a Reply

 
